Do You Know Your Temperament?

Am an introvert – melancholic.
What about you?

Hey you’ll!

Hope you’ll well in this current lock down situation all over the world! Many of the answers for human behavior can be found in people’s temperaments or personalities. Well, with that said, let me open my today’s focus which is basically on, what temperaments are? Do you know your temperament? It may sound normal but I urge you to get to know what your temperament/personality is, it will help you understand why you behave the way that you do.

“there are “reasons” for everything we do as human beings, though it is often difficult for us to understand why we think like we think, feel like we feel, or act like we acting life”

Dr. D. W. Ekstrand.

Knowing your temperament will help you understand your different behaviors and feelings, a genetic explanation
of human“Temperaments” or “
Personalities” is that all of us
have been born with genetically
inherited “behavioral tendencies” that are as much a part of our DNA as is the color of our hair, so our human
behavior is shaped equally by our environment and by our DNA. Thus, all of us as human beings have been hard-wired by our Creator and we have all been
impacted by the world around us.

Extroverts are people who enjoy other people’s company and are very happy when relating with others. They are open to public and sociable places. Extroverts are very good at relating with others, these are the people that can start a conversation with anyone much easier than an introvert.

Highly extroverted Personalities like the Choleric and Sanguine personality-types are more “out-going,” more sociable,
and more comfortable in a crowd, even standing out in a crowd, they are highly relational beings. While highly introverted Personalities like the
Melancholy and Phlegmatic personalities are more shy and“reserved”and feel anxious about being in crowd, especially at being singled-out in a crowd, unlike extroverts these are very organizational beings, some people call them the perfectionist.

Introverts are the people that are very comfortable and prefer being alone in their own personal space and they have no problem with it, they are reserved.

All that said, you have to know that all human beings have a degree of each of these four personality
types within them, though each
person will definitely test out
higher in one,with another being
a close second. No individual
only possesses one personality
type, and most of us have a very
strong secondary temperament. Whatever your
temperament or personality is, God is the one who has given you the abilities and sensitivities that you possess, and He has given those things to you for a purpose, that you might faithfully work at
developing them and using them
in His service.

You Should take one of the
personality tests available today,
you would discover that you
possess dominant characteristics
in a couple of the temperaments,
and each kind of personality has a general characteristic associated with it. I would love to stop here and pick it up next time with more description of the temperaments in depth. Thank you for joining in today, hope you have taken a thing or two.

Till tomorrow as I come in with the purpose driven life. Lots of love, stay blessed.

Published by Kevin Bongonyinge

Am Just God's vessel to be used for his purpose.

17 thoughts on “Do You Know Your Temperament?

  1. I’m a phlegmatic, very strongly. Many times in life society pushes me as a female to be sanguine “smile,” “just be positive,” and I do experience joy, but my joy is a feeling in my heart, not a dramatic outpouring. I never knew I was phlegmatic before taking the test, it surprises me so much that I could live more than 30 years with myself without knowing the basics about “me”. I think sometimes it’s easier to see people from the outside in, than it is to see from the inside out. Like a penguin living in a group of seals may never realize it’s a penguin… or it was just me wanting to please my family, who wanted a sanguine child. I am a mom of one choleric and one sanguine child and I now understand why it’s so desired, it is great to have someone to lift your spirits with their sunshine, but if you don’t have that skill you shouldn’t be forced to try to be someone you are not, we all deserve to find a way to contribute society as who we are and not be forced to fit a mold that injures us in order for society to try to think people are one size fits all. I’ve seen a color scheme where phlegmatic are green, melancholy blue, sanguine yellow, choleric red, I personally like that scheme better than the one with purple. Finding out I was phlegmatic last year was life changing, because my spouse hates on me being calm when he wants me to be excited over everything, and I just can’t, he convinced me there was something wrong with me for years, until I realized that this is who I am, now that I accept who I am he can’t hurt my feelings, if he says something rude, I tell him I didn’t like it, but it only hurt me when I thought that he was right that I shouldn’t be the way I am, now that I realize how I am, that I am meant to be how I am, I am no longer ashamed when other people wish I was someone different. My husband is choleric, so he gets both very angry, but also super excited, and he doesn’t always understand why I don’t get very angry, nor super excited easily. I think it’s out of ignorance that people assume other people either are or should be the same as them, not because we don’t care for one another. If I never knew who I was, how can I expect other people would know? 🐢

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Woow, It quite interesting Sakura how knowing your Temperament, has helped you to figure out your life. And I love the fact that you know the different Temperaments of your family members. It helps to know how to relate with them best. Thank you for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started